This verse seemed important to me last year and shaped how I reacted to some things: “Do not call conspiracy everything this people calls a conspiracy; do not fear what they fear, and do not dread it.” (Isaiah 8:12)

Today I spotted a comment in a blog stream that I thought was good… “We all see through the glass darkly and error. Those errors have consequences and those consequences compound. It doesn’t take the Illuminati to mess up the world.”

So,,,, somewhere between having your head in the sand in a state of denial that there aren’t conspiracies, and seeing a conspiracy behind every politician and power there is a place called discernment.

Don’t call conspiracy everything this people calls conspiracy doesn’t mean there aren’t conspiracies because there are. It’s to not join quickly with those who see conspiracies everywhere. Curiously, Christians are especially vulnerable to conspiracy theories.

Remember when Hillary Clinton referenced a “vast right-wing conspiracy” against her husband? We laughed because Bill was his own worst enemy. Today friends on my side of the aisle smear each other with insinuations and accusations that certain people are secretly pushing Obamacare forward in our state or that there are elected officials masquerading as Republicans in our state who really aren’t.

Certainly there are people behind the scenes pushing Obamacare and others who have no business in the Republican party. I’m one who loves a good conspiracy theory – I’d probably shock you with a few I think have merit. My point here is that we need to be more careful and not be so quick to impugn the motives of others.