There is definitely a slower pace here which is refreshing and guilt-producing at the same time. Physiologically I’m sure there is an explanation for how we all feel a bit in a daze… like we were running hard and then we started walking down a quiet lane.

Last night I was reading outside at ten o’clock at night at which point it was too dark to read. I sat for a moment and thanked God for my four quiet natured companions on this trip. Not that the Hickey kids aren’t capable of noise, but those who’ve lived with us will attest to the fact that we are pretty quiet people.  Kristen already commented on the quiet here.

This morning I thought I’d post a little gem I came across a couple days ago while planning our trip to the home of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. In the days ahead I will expound more on his life. I was privileged to study for three years under one of the world’s leading Bonhoeffer scholars, the late Dr. F. Burton Nelson. I hope you’ll take a moment to click that link and read a short brief on his life and work, or buy this monstrous book and you’ll get the best of Burton and Bonhoeffer. 

My good friend Jon Black and I painted his home while we were in seminary in Chicago and Burton (whose wife is from SD) took a special interest in me moving there and kept up with me until his death. He suggested to me that Bonhoeffer would make a good lifelong theological companion for me and I took him up on that suggestion.

So, here’s the gem from the guy (theologian/pastor Bonhoeffer) who was hung naked by the neck with wire in a concentration camp here for participating in a secret assassination plot against Hilter…

Church must not simply bandage the victims under the wheel, but jam the spoke of the wheel itself.

To me this speaks volumes about how the church engages society in redemptive ways. I don’t plan to sit by like most German pastors did and pontificate religious nothings while people around me suffer and die.  All in favor of jamming the spoke of the wicked wheel say Aye.