Whoops. Woke up too early to get to the Kadoka, SD stop here on the twelve-city state Urgency Tour rallying pastors to use their influence to help end abortion in South Dakota. I guess I forgot to consider the time change. But nothing so far has been incidental or accidental or coincidence or without purpose. Waking up too early made me think I’m getting ahead of myself. I do think we are one step ahead of our enemies in the battle. My pro-life blog has more on our tour so far.

The theme of the tour is Urgency and we’ve been reading Martin Luther King Jr’s book “Why We Can’t Wait” in the car. I particularly enjoyed this little section on an “urgency tour” he found himself on. We are in good company.

We were seeking to bring about a great social change which could only be achieved through unified effort. Yet our community was divided. Our goals could never be attained in such an atmosphere. It was decided that we would conduct a whirlwind campaign of meetings with organizations and leaders in the Negro community, to seek to mobilize every key person and group behind our movement. Along with members of my staff, I began addressing a cross section of our people in Birmingham. I spoke to 125 business and professional people… talked to a gathering of 200 ministers… met with many smaller groups, during a hectic one-week schedule… I dealt with the argument of timing. To the ministers I stressed the need for a social gospel to supplement the gospel of individual salvation. I suggested that only a “dry as dust” religion prompts a minister to extol the glories of Heaven while ignoring the social conditions that cause me earthly hell. I pleaded for the projection of strong, firm leadership by the Negro minister… I asked how the Negro would ever gain his freedom without the guidance, support and inspiration of his spiritual leaders. (pg. 54-55)

Did you catch how he said – “I dealt with the argument of timing.” It’s all about timing. Here’s another gem from MLK on the issue of urgency and timing:

“Another consideration had also affected the thinking of some of the Negro leaders in Birmingham. This was the widespread feeling that our action was ill-timed… The words “bad timing” came to be ghosts haunting our every move in Birmingham… Above all they did not realize that it was ridiculous to speak of timing when the clock of history showed that the Negro had already suffered one hundred years of delay.”