847 pages of commentary on the parables of Jesus. I encourage every teacher and preacher to get a copy before they preach again from the parables. You can buy it here. Here you can read a brief interview with author/scholar Dr. Klyne Snodgrass about his parables book.

This post has been sitting in my “drafts” folder for a nearly a year here on the blog. I thought I posted it way back when but apparently I wanted to add more and so I just saved it as a draft and got sidetracked. I’ve been in conversation this week with Klyne and thought afterwards to do a search of my blog here to see what I wrote about his parables book. Nothing came up which I thought odd and after searching I found just this simple post announcing it’s publication saved as a draft.

Dr. Klyne Snodgrass is one of the world’s leading New Testament scholars whom I had the privilege of studying under in seminary. I took his course on the parables in 1992 and at that time this book had already been in the works for years. This is really a life work and will be THE standard in parable studies for the next generation. I told him this week that his parables book is one of my most cherished books on the shelf and that it is an enormous and lasting gift to the Body of Christ! I love to preach from the parables and his imprint is evident each time.

You can read a short bio on him here.  Or, check out his blog – a good place to start is here with this stir-the-pot post titled Asking Jesus Into Your Heart.  He has written many things but his commentary on Ephesians is another book that ought to be on every pastors shelf.  His book Between Two Truths: Living with Biblical Tensions is his easiest read and is perfect for small group use. If Klyne writes it, I read it and I’m better for it.

The reason I refer to him as Klyne instead of Dr. Snodgrass as the rest of the world does is because he encouraged the first name basis thing with his students. Kristen worked with his wife Phyllis during our time there and time in their home is as memorable to me as time in his classroom – they were an important model of humility and transparency for us – real people, genuine followers of Christ. In the classroom, Klyne was the toughest prof in the seminary and those who wanted the easy road didn’t take his electives. Their loss. When he’d preach in chapel he read straight out of his worn out Greek New Testament like it was his first language. If anyone is wondering, there are still some guys like him out there in academia keeping seminaries from becoming cemetaries.

