Woe to you when men speak well of you. Jesus said that. Yet the temptation in ministry is to have people speak well of you – the more the better. The goal for some appears to be- become a superstar and not so much a servant. Charisma Magazine just ran a story called “The Celebrity Syndrome.” The article fits the hero theme well. It’s amazing that these major magazines are reading my blog and copying my themes. I must have “arrived.”

Leadership Journal recently blogged about the need for a “hero boycott” in the Body of Christ….

Why the big-name celebrity leaders are turning me off…. It’s no different today than it was in the first century, when Paul noted in his first letter to the Corinthians that the Christ-followers there were dividing themselves over who they followed. “I follow Paul,” said some, while others countered, “I follow Apollos.” Today it’s the same story, just a different millennium: “I am of Hybels.” “I am of Warren.” “I am of Maxwell.” “I am of Stanley.” “I am of Moore.” “I am of Groeschel.” “I am of McLaren.” “I am of Driscoll.”…

Those are all evangelical heroes. Should we add some names from the charismatic camp? Hayford, Jakes, Osteen, Meyer, Barnett, Hagee, Copeland, Bevere. How about Bentley, King, Pierce? How about the Christian music scene, even the worship music scene?

There was a hugely refreshing moment at OneThing last month when somebody on the platform said “turn the stage lights off, this isn’t about anybody up here.” The focus was the Lord. Contrast that with endless Christian conferences that pride themselves on having the Who’s Who of the latest move of God on the speakers list.

A number of years ago, like ten or so, a bunch of pastors in the city here met and we were talking about bringing in PromiseKeepers. It was nauseating to see the enthusiasm as different big names were tossed around. I’d been on the bandwagon to bring in Franklin Graham in ’97. Really nothing in our city changed. However, something in me changed after that – I thought, we need God to visit here, no one else. It was one of the things that turned me into a pray-er. Everyone else seemed in the way. Heaven-sent heroes get out of God’s way.

One of the things I admire about heaven-sent heroes is their hiddenness and their humility. Whatever happened to hiddenness and staying hidden in God? Today I nominate no name – unsung – nameless – faceless people who, day after day, spend themselves in pursuit of God and his Kingdom coming on earth as it is in heaven.

